shiningpolaris.com

July 3, 2009

Ever annoyed by those “absolute anonymity” blogspam comments on every single article that gets on Digg/Reddit?

Filed under: The Internet — sherl0k @ 10:59 am

“Prevent identity theft! Protect your email from spammers!”

Really?

Well, all it takes is a WHOIS on the domain you’re not-so-cleverly masking up with free domain redirectors, to see who this genius mastermind is. They’re all just iframe pages with the main content being hosted at http://www.harleydeals.net/ua/. So let’s query the WHOIS database and see how private this dude’s/dudette’s info really is.

registrant-firstname: William
registrant-lastname: Moffatt
registrant-street1: 8879 W Colonial DR
registrant-street2: Suite 143
registrant-pcode: 34761
registrant-state: FL
registrant-city: Ocoee
registrant-ccode: US
registrant-phone: +1.8636983793
registrant-email: dexxa@att.net

Google searches confirm the name and phone number are accurate, unless he’s using that pseudonym in real life along with on the Internet. I don’t know about you guys, but if he’s dumb enough to not hide his WHOIS info behind a privacy protector then he’s probably dumb enough to use his real information in there.

With this information (which is publicly available) I’m not calling for an army to spam/harass/find his house; I’m simply making an ironic point that a guy advertising anonymity on the Internet is doing a shoddy job of doing it himself.

No Comments »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URL

Leave a comment

Powered by WordPress